Brief Introduction

College of Geographical Science of Harbin Normal University is previously the Department of Geography of Harbin Normal University, which was established in 1958. Over the past 50 years, more than 3000 full-time undergraduate and graduate students and 2500 undergraduate or junior correspondence graduates and trainees have finished their studies here. By now, they are working everywhere across Heilongjiang province, particularly taking roots in White mountain and Black water -- the landscape of northeast China. The College of Geographical Science boasts of a reasonably structured teaching and scientific research team, mainly consisting of young professors or associate professors under the age of 45 years old with doctoral and Master's degrees. There is presently 11 professors and 10 associate professors, including 1 Heilongjiang scholar, 1 provincial teaching master, 4 doctoral advisors, as well as 19 master's advisors. There are 15 teachers with Doctoral degree, four teachers in course of studying for doctoral degrees. By the end of 2007, there are 1000 full-time undergraduates, and 120 graduate students. The College of Geographical Science consists of three undergraduate programs, namely the geographical science, resources environment and rural and urban planning management, and the geographical information system three undergraduate. As one provincial key construction discipline, the natural geography is the first-level discipline for Doctoral Degree granting, and the geography is the first-level for Master Degree granting. The natural geography, humanistic geography, cartography and geographic information system are the three disciplines for Master's degree granting. The cartography and geographic information system is one of the college key construction disciplines; the geographical science is one of the provincial key construction disciplines as well as the national characteristic major; the resources environment and rural and urban planning management is one of the college key construction disciplines.

The College of Geographical Science has three departments: the department of geography, department of resource and environment science, department of geographic information science; two comprehensive laboratories: natural geographical comprehensive laboratories (including soil geographical laboratory, environmental science laboratory, the meteorology and climatology laboratory, biology & geography laboratory; geological practice teaching room); geographic information and remote sensing laboratories (including the geographic information system laboratory, the remote sensing-based laboratory, measurement and map laboratory, GPS laboratories, digital image processing laboratories, GIS application laboratory, GIS software development research laboratory and spatial decision & digital simulation laboratory); two specimens showrooms (soil, plants and animals specimen rooms, geological and geographic specimen rooms); one city planning research center and automatic meteorological observatory covering an area of 875 square meters. Heilongjiang Geographical Society and Harbin Normal University Environmental Science Research Institute are affiliated to the College of Geographical Science. Professional and scientific research laboratory covers an area of 1718.94 square meters, of which the teacher research housing area is 519.04 square meters, and laboratory building housing area is 1428.77 square meters. It is equipped with advanced teaching instruments and scientific research equipment, and advanced equipments in the areas of analysis of soil, plant, sediment, rock, physical and chemical properties of water, as well as geographic information system, remote sensing, GPS, etc, with the total value amounting to $7.8 million.In recent years, the College of Geographical Science has made considerable progress in science research, undertaken nearly 30 items of various of scientific research projects of different levels, including the State 863 Program sub-projects, 6 items of National Natural Science Foundation Project, 2 Heilongjiang Outstanding Youth Project, Key Scientific and Technological Project in Heilongjiang province, 9 Provincial Education Research and Teaching Reform Projects, and other provincial or ministerial projects. The college has published 46 academic monographs and teaching materials, more than 300 academic papers, of which 30 were incorporated by SCI, EI, ISTP. It has won 16 provincial or ministerial science awards, 3 items of provincial teaching achievement award.

Wan Luhe, Dean of the college.

Wan Luhe¡¯s profile: 
Born in September 1967, he is one master advisor, as well as the dean of the College of Geographical Science of Harbin Normal University. His postdoctoral research direction is spatial decision support system and data mining. Practice one: instruct two terms of students of geographical science major to attend a 6 weeks of education practice, with the students of 128; practice two:  instruct four terms of students of the geographic information system major to attend a three weeks of field exercitation, with 79 students; Graduation design/paper©¤provide for undergraduate graduation thesis guidance, with the total number of students reaching 22. Besides, he has also guided students of GIS major to attend two College Students' Innovation Fund Project.


Copyright©Harbin Normal University Hei IPC for No. 05006819